Manage Florida's Requirements for Withholding and Filings for small, enterprise and exempt organizations/businesses with PayWow.Try PayWow Now for FREE
PayWow equips your business with the latest resources on state withholding and filings.
The state of Florida has no Florida Withholding requirements and therefore there are no state taxes or any local taxes. Florida also does not impose any reciprocal agreements with any other states.
Florida withholding requirements and calculations is automatically done by PayWow and deposits are done on-time.Try PayWow Now for FREE
The State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) is a program that offers compensation to eligible workers who lost their job. As an employer of Florida, you are required to contribute to the state unemployment insurance, entitled Reemployment Assistance. To pay your Reemployment Assistance, you must have first registered with Florida's Department of Revenue.
You will need to register with the Department if you have employees working in Florida. However, you may not do so until you have a quarterly payroll of $1500 or more in a calendar year.
Upon registration, you will be issued a Reemployment account number and tax rate. The account number will be 7 digits and you can find it on your Florida Quarterly Tax Return ( Form RT-6). This information is required as only then PayWow will be able to file/pay your unemployment taxes.
Florida SUTA wage base limit for 2020 is $7000.
Generally, the Florida SUI tax rates for 2020 is between .1 to 5.4%.
If you are a new employer then the Florida SUI tax for 2020 is 2.7%. Please note that unemployment taxes must be paid only by the employers and shall not be deducted from the employees’ wages.
PayWow automatically deposits your unemployment taxes to the State on a quarterly basis based on the information recorded in the application.
Florida does not have state disability insurance (SDI).
The minimum wage rate for the state of Florida is $8.56/hr, which is effective from the 1st of January 2020.
If your business has tipped employees, the state imposes a minimum wage of $5.54/he, in addition to their tip values.
In case, an employer is found to be violating the minimum wage requirements, then they are subject to a penalty of $1,000 per violation, that is payable to the state.
In PayWow, once you add employees and their compensation types, their paychecks will be automatically calculated.
As an employer of the state of Florida, you must report all your new hires and rehired employees to the state agency within 20 days of their employment.
Following are the details required to complete the new hire report:
Employer Name, Address, State Employer Identification Number(Unemployment Insurance Number), Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
Employee Name, Address, Social Security Number, Date of Hire, Date of Birth (Optional)
If you have the new hire reports, those will be used for:
The new hire reports can be mailed online to the Florida Child Support Services for Employers. Or, employers can fax those copies to the Child Support Services Division.
The address is:Florida New Hire Reporting Center
If any of your employees are liable to pay for child support, then you will receive a withholding notice from the state agency asking you to remit payments for child support from the employee's wages. This amount in turn goes to the custodial parent.
But, the state mandates employers to make online payments if they had 10 or more employees for any quarter, or were subject to an amount of $20,000. In the other cases, payments can be mailed to the below address:Florida State Disbursement Unit
PayWow lets you record any type of garnishments and during payroll processing, such deductions will be debited from the employee's paycheck.
There are no local taxes in the state of Florida.
Florida does not have reciprocal agreements with other states.
Employers are required to file Form RT-6 by the end of the month following the close of the previous quarter.
Form RT-6 is a quarterly report for Reemployment assistance taxes that are due even if the business does not have any employees or paid no wages during any quarter.
|Quarter||Reporting Period||The Due Date will be on|
|1||January - March||April 30th|
|2||April - June||July 31st|
|3||July - September||October 31st|
|4||October - December||January 31st|